easy tomato, red pepper and tuna pasta for tired/lazy people

14876172_10154863981349238_191243867_o

It’s been a while since I last posted, but seeing as my summer job in Paris involved writing about food all day every day (which don’t get me wrong, I completely loved) I slightly lacked the inspiration to also do it in my free time. Besides, my food-related vocabulary and imagination were beginning to run a little dry too. (I mean, how many different ways can you describe potatoes?! 25, apparently… http://www.gourmandize.com/article-2405-25-great-ways-to-use-up-leftover-potatoes.htm)

Now I’ve finished that exciting phase of my year abroad, and I’m onto the next. This time I’m a little further afield (more south, happily) in Palma, Mallorca. Palma is the capital of Mallorca, which is one of Spain’s beautiful Balearic Islands (we won’t mention that it’s also a short bus ride from the British holiday/ party/ boozing capital of Magaluf).

My job involves just 12 short hours of work a week, which is a quite a shock to the system from working 35 hours a week (full time) in Paris. So, to fill all this free time, I’m (optimistically) hoping to try my hand at some authentic Mallorcan cuisine. I’ve already got my eye on ‘tumbet’ (layers of roasted vegetables, potatoes and tomato sauce… yum)

However this recipe is not Mallorcan, or even Spanish for matter. It’s for when you’re hungry, tired, and still want a fairly nutritious meal with easy ingredients. If you’re really lacking in time you can quickly brown the onion and red pepper in a frying pan for a few minutes, but I do think roasting gives them a nicer flavour.

Ingredients: (in true Spanish style I am being very relaxed with quantities so feel free to increase/decrease what you want). This dish serves roughly 3.

  • wholewheat pasta, enough to serve 3
  • tin of chopped tomatoes
  • red pepper
  • red onion
  • dried basil
  • dried oregano
  • tin of tuna
  • cheese, whatever you like
  • black pepper

Method:

  1. If you’re going to roast the red pepper and onion preheat the oven to 220C. Chop the vegetables into small chunks then toss with a little olive oil and roast in the oven for 15/20 minutes.
  2. When the vegetables have roughly 10 minutes left cook your pasta until it is al dente.
  3. Strain the pasta and add the tin of tomatoes along with roughly 2 tsps of each dried herb. Add the tinned tuna and your vegetables when they are done. Add a generous grind of black pepper.
  4. Stir, and add some grated or crumbled cheese. Pour into an oven-proof dish, sprinkle with more cheese, then bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes, until it is gently bubbling and starting to brown on the top.

Total cooking and preparation time: around 45 minutes

So easy! I cooked three portions and saved the other two for the following days, and it was just as good.

2 thoughts on “easy tomato, red pepper and tuna pasta for tired/lazy people

Leave a Reply

