homemade rotisserie-style chicken

13977863_10154591453564238_61562096_o

It’s been too long since I last posted! I’ve been so busy working full time (how do normal people manage this all year round?!) and just trying to get the most out of Paris, so I barely have a moment to spare. I’ve also been cooking rather boring meals, because it’s just for me. 

But the other day I found myself with a completely free evening, so the logical thing to do was… roast a chicken! (Maybe that’s just me). On my way home from work I always pass shops selling rotisserie chickens and they smell insane so the other day I caved and bought one (for all of 12 euros! 😧). It was a disappointment though, it tasted nice but was a little dry and didn’t justify the steep price ticket. Seeing as rotisserie chickens are pretty big in France I thought I’d give it a go myself, saving roughly half the price and hopefully gaining loads more flavour. It actually turned out really well, and was ridiculously simple. If you’re cooking for one it’s great because you can make it at the weekend and then you’ve got a good few meals/ lunches sorted for the week.

Ingredients: (I will leave out this prices this time because it’ll get too confusing being in Euros!)

  • one chicken, around 1.4kg
  • butter
  • roast chicken spice mix
  • dried garlic
  • dried paprika
  • dried cajun spice mix
  • salt and pepper

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 190 °C.
  2. Place chicken in an oven-proof dish. Rub generously with butter.
  3. In a bowl mix all the spices (I used mostly chicken spice mix and a little of the all the others), then rub all over the chicken. Dot the chicken with more butter.
  4. Place in the oven for 1 hour 20, and remove from the oven to baste it with the juices 2 or 3 times. Add more butter if there’s not enough liquid or if it looks too dry.
  5. Take out of the oven, and make small holes in the top with a knife. Drizzle with the liquid then flip over and leave to rest in the juices for 10 minutes. (I like to think this makes it more juicy).
  6. Serve!

Preparation and cooking time: roughly 1 hour 30 in total

So easy! I have no idea how to cut up a chicken so I just pull it apart and that seems to work. Drizzle the remaining juices over the chicken and try not to eat it all at once!

 

8 thoughts on “homemade rotisserie-style chicken

  1. I can’t believe it’s that simple… it looks amazing so I always thought that it was so complicated!! And you are getting me motivated to post… I haven’t for a few months either!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

