pesto baked salmon and sweet potato fries

DSC_1222 (1)

I can’t believe I haven’t shared sweet potato fries on here before, I absolutely love them! I also loove salmon (in case you hadn’t already noticed on my other posts!) but one of my housemates doesn’t like it and we take it in turns to cook so I can’t do this meal very often 😦 However, it is super easy and quick to prepare! 

Ingredients to serve three:

  • Three salmon steaks (I used Tesco Value range which is their cheapest and it still tasted lovely! It worked out at about £3)
  • Reduced fat red pesto (£1, Tesco)
  • Sweet potaotes (£1.25, Tesco)
  • Dried paprika (£0.85, Tesco)
  • Plain flour (£0.40, Tesco)
  • Broccoli (£0.49, Tesco)
  • Green beans (I used frozen – £0.85, Tesco)

Process:

  1. Turn the oven on to 220C.
  2. Peel the potatoes (you can leave the skin on if you want but give them a good scrub) and then slice into small strips, a bit like carrots batons.
  3. Pour oil into in a large roasting tray, about a centimetre deep, and heat in the oven for 3-5 minutes.
  4. In a bowl sprinkle roughly two tablespoons of flour, one tablespoon of paprika and add freshly ground salt and pepper. Add the sweet potatoes to the bowl and mix together.
  5. Take the roasting tray out of the oven and lay out the sweet potatoes in it. I think it they get crispier if they’re not touching, so it helps to be quite neat here! Time for roughly 30 minutes.
  6. Add a blob of pesto onto each salmon steak, wrap in tin foil and place on a baking tray. When the potatoes have had 10 minutes put the salmon in the oven, on the next shelf down.
  7. When there’s 5/10 minutes to go prepare your veg
  8. When you take the sweet potatoes out lay them out on kitchen towel so it can absorb the excess oil.
12325217_10153940167434238_2015007246_n (1)
the potatoes just before going into the oven!

Preparation time: 10/15 minutes

Cooking time: roughly 30 minutes

Cost per portion: roughly £1.80

I hope you like this recipe. I know I used a lot of oil to make the sweet potatoes  – I find it’s the only way I can get them crisp – so let me know if you have any tips or tricks!

4 thoughts on “pesto baked salmon and sweet potato fries

Leave a Reply

